Back to Section Home

Women's Track & Field Team Honored

Women’s Track & Field Team Honored

Butte College athletes were recently honored for their scholastic achievements by the California Community College Athletic Association.

The Butte College Women’s Track and Field Team was among the Top 10 recipients of the 2010 Scholar Team award.

The Scholar Team Award is the highest academic team achievement given annually by the CCCAA. All team members must have excelled academically with a total GPA of 3.0 or higher. The honor is also based on the team’s demonstration of better than average accomplishments in intercollegiate athletic competition.

The Women’s Track and Field Team, with a 2009-2010 team GP of 3.32, were selected from among more than 100 teams in California for the Scholar Team award.

“We are proud that our teams and athletes excel in the classroom in addition to their various sports activities,” said Craig Rigsbee, athletic director.

The Scholar Team members honored were: Angelica Cahee, Samantha Christensen, Mary Finn, Nibretye Green-Jackson, Anja Grueterich, Rae Haley, Jamie Jin, Sonya Lucatero, Bridget McClarrinon, Leanna Nelson, Sarah Nichols, Amanda Oliva, Sisarie Sherry, Kelli Stanley, Mallory Vader and Chantel Vanderbilt.

Butte College | 3536 Butte Campus Drive, Oroville CA 95965 | General Information 530.895.2511

Back to Top