Back to Section Home


Physical Science Scholarships


The Physical Science department awards two $500 scholarships every spring semester in honor of two former colleagues, Richard Clark and Larry Cabral.  These scholarships are largely merit-based, and honor exceptional academic students majoring in the physical sciences.

Scholarship Criteria


Recipients must be a continuing Butte student OR transferring to a four-year institution with a major in Astronomy, Chemistry, Geology, Meteorology, Physics, or related majors.

Academic Requirements:

Recipients must have completed a minimum of 15 units at Butte by the time the scholarship is awarded.

They must have completed a minimum of one course in their major at Butte.

They must have a minimum overall G.P.A. of 3.0.


The scholarship committee looks favorably on students who tutor, grade, or are stockroom assistants
, although this is not a requirement for the scholarship.

How To Apply:

Students should fill out a general scholarship application through the Butte College foundation office.  There is then some additional information needed to apply for the physical science scholarships (it may change every year how to access this extra information).  The additional information allows you to apply for both scholarships at once.  The link below is a pdf of the application we've used in the past, and the addition information we require.  The due date is normally around mid-May.

Spring 2013 Scholarship Application

Previous Recipients

Richard Clark Memorial Scholarship

Larry Cabral Memorial Scholarship

2014: Elaine Jennings (Chemistry) 2014: Anna Wannenmacher (Chemistry)
2013: Ravi Shankar (Chemistry) 2013: Elaine Jennings (Biology)
2012: Kyle Devlin (Chemistry) 2012: Daniel Curiel (Biochemistry)
2011: Christianna Lininger (Chemistry) 2011: Timothy Dunn (Chemistry)
2010: Frank Wilson (Chemistry) 2010: Leo Savage-Low (Chemistry)
2009: Rory Anderson (Chemistry) 2009: Anthony Jenkins (Physics)
2007: Joshua Harrelson (Chemistry)  
2006: Glenn Winn (Chemistry)  
2005: Masaki Hamada (Physics)  
2003: David Wren (Chemistry)  
2002: Scott Wren (Chemistry)  
2001: Masaki Hamada (Physics)  

The names of the recipients are etched in two plaques outside of the physical science building, near PS 108.

 Last updated 8-30-14

Butte College | 3536 Butte Campus Drive, Oroville CA 95965 | General Information 530.895.2511

Back to Top