Cosmetology is a 1,600 hour course of study designed to meet the State of California Cosmetology Act. Butte College offers 1,680 hours of study in a seven-module sequence of courses, with each module six weeks in duration. By meeting required academic and attendance standards, each six-week module will result in 5 semester units of college credit.
The 7 six-week modules can be completed in approximately ten months. Successful completion will enable the student to meet the 1,600 hour state licensing requirement and will result in a total of 35 units of college credit.
A Certificate of Achievement can be earned by completing the seven-module, 1,600-hour COS 100-106 program. No other General Education, competency, or district requirements need be completed for the certificate.
Chico Beauty College also offers training programs for manicuring and skin care (esthetician) through Butte Community College.
In order to obtain a Cosmetologist License and practice Cosmetology in the State of California, students must be 17 years of age or older, have a high school diploma or GED, successfully complete the 1,600 course of study and pass the state examination (written and practical). Tests are administered through the Department of Consumer Affairs Bureau of Barbering and Cosmetology.
To enroll in this program, potential students should contact the Chico Beauty College at (530) 343-4201 or call the Office of Contract Education at (530) 895-9018.